Pascal Covici

I try to ignore some of coincidences in life and just let things happen but my investigations in class have really begun to resonate personally in a interesting and challenging manner. I started quoting Steinbeck from time to time: specifically a dedication letter in the front pages of East of Eden he wrote to Pascal Covici. I didn’t know who or what that was I assumed it was Latin. When I looked it up I discovered that it was his editor and when he submitted East of Eden it was in wood box ( which makes sense if you read the letter).  To discover that now I get chills and redoubles my goal to read everything Steinbeck wrote. He teaches me to not only write better but to express myself as an artist and a person.

Ad Astra per Alia Porci.

Pascal Covici

Dear Pat

You came upon me carving some kind little figure out of wood and you said, “Why don’t you make something for me?” I asked what you wanted, and you said , ” A box.”

“What for?”

“To put things in.”

“What things?”

“Whatever you have,” you said.

Well here is your box.  Nearly everything I have is in it and it is not full. Pain and excitement are in it, and feeling good or bad and evil thoughts and good thoughts- the pleasure of design and some despair and the indescribable joy of creation.

And on top of these are all the gratitude and love

I have for you.  And still it is not full.

John

Leave a comment

Filed under important strategies

Leave a Reply

